One Morning in 2065…

Matjaz Vidmar is a postgraduate research student in The Institute for the Study of Science, Technology and Innovation; part of Science, Technology and Innovation Studies Subject Group in the School of Social and Political Science and Entrepreneurship and Innovation Group of Business School; at The University of Edinburgh

His main area of research is acceleration of business incubation and development of Space Sector in the UK and specifically in Scotland.

Matjaz Vidmar

His piece ‘One Morning in 2065…’ finished in the top 10 of the ESRC’s writing competition, The World in 2065– in collaboration with academic publishers, SAGE.  You can read it below:

One Morning in 2065…

‘Beep, beep, beep…The alarm goes off ringing – my personal assistant, Thor, is scheduled to wake me up as ever for 7.30am. Would be easy to hit the red button now, kill Thor off, and enjoy some more peaceful slumber next to my wife, but I knew it was not to be.’

The red button is not there to avoid getting up in the morning, only to avoid mindfulness and “the Biggy”. Thor is a machine, of course, or not even that, it is a technology which enables total connectivity anywhere and everywhere, and helps me with anything as long as it’s about getting information or communicating.

‘Beep, beep, beep…  The red button seems so tempting…’

“The Biggy”, of course, is the worry that either humans or technology itself could use our personal information inappropriately or against us. Orwell’s Big Brother from 1984, that sort of thing. We call it “the Biggy” now, as a joke, as we hope to have found a solution for it. Every single one of our PA devices has the ultimate switch – press the red button and the thing is off, all power cut! If we notice anything odd or prying, we can just stop the thing – and the PAs know this, too.

‘Beep, beep. Finally, I hit the blue button – “message accepted”. Thor predictably voices in his clinical tone: “Alarm deactivated. Status check-up in 5 minutes.” He will auto-text me in 5 minutes to ask if I am ready for my run. As I run, he will update me on all the news, read my e-mails, send my replies and put music on, as I like it. He will keep track of my run and let me know when I am slipping off my desired tempo.’

Still sounds like Big Brother? Well, apart from being able to switch the thing off, we now also have true democracy and complete control over the “big data”, so no evil masterminds can take over our lives.

Initially there was a struggle (well documented by my colleagues researching public policy), when corporate firms tried to fight off these ideas about free absolute connectivity being a human right – but ultimately they failed. Indeed, how could these profit-driven companies compete with the new co-operatives, which were based on open innovation and have had pre-funded all their technology products, making them free for all customers?

Since this Space Revolution 35 years ago, free internet everywhere is no longer a dream and portable devices like Thor are standard issue to all new-borns since 2050. The co-operatives built large constellations of small satellites, enabling anyone to access the web from anywhere. Soon, people started to truly talk to each other, and political and social change was inevitable. We have done away with the nation state and we now have community administration and global governance, as the free absolute connectivity enables citizens’ participation in all key decisions.

‘The air is cold and as soon as my feet touch the floor, I shiver just a little – but the heat immediately rises from the PWC carpet and I feel like immersing in a warm pool. I just put on the running suit as Thor texts: “Ready to go?”’

I am particularly proud of the PWC – “Personal Warmth Carpet” – and many other technologies which I helped develop with my research in innovation systems and knowledge networks. We started small, with the Scottish Space Sector, but soon the understanding we developed led to national and international interventions, supporting the crowdfunded campaigns with access to technical expertise previously locked away in science labs.

Not all of these interventions worked, but by using our Quantified Correlated Impacts Evaluation framework we were able to weed out the struggling projects and invest more in those which returned sustainable new businesses with great potential. As predicted, as soon as new companies supported by the right tools entered the knowledge network, their success was inevitable.

‘I reply to Thor: “Sure.”. “Unlocking the pressure passage” he responds. I step outside. The sky is pale blue due to the thin, carefully constructed layer of atmosphere, and the warm shimmering white light from the Sun is rising from behind the silvery hills. Who would have thought 50 years ago that being here, living here was possible? But possible it is – as soon as humanity started to leave in peace and harmony, pulling together resources and expertise previously used to fight each other, this became a very small step indeed.’

‘As small as the one I make through the door of the compound, filling my lungs with clean morning air. I start to run, ready for another day of my future – living on the Moon in 2065.’

One thought on “One Morning in 2065…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.